Berlioz – Symphony Fantastique Sequence 1

This sequence is based on the old melody known as the Dies Irae, as it appears at the end of the 5th movement of Hector Berlioz’s Symphony Fantastique

The Dies Irae has been used in many orchestral works, but Berlioz brings it to life by giving the melody to a surly bunch of bassoons, ophicleides, and serpents, before passing it to the trombones and the rest of the brass.

Play this sequence AT LEAST 2 ways. 
1) Big Bold Bell Tones, as demonstrated in the video
2) Even, round, vocal phrases as if you are a monk, chanting a dark incantation.

This sequence will help you with your clarity of articulation, ringing sound, and attention to note shapes. 

Happy Practicing!

–> Back to DOWNLOADS INDEX Page <–

Excerpt starts at 51:04

If you are hungry for MORE than your weekly sequence or want to support the creation of these materials, check out my Patreon.

For as little as $1 per sequence, you can become a FluentFriend today.

FluentFriends gain access to a private facebook group where I share more resources (sequences/practice materials), behind the scenes videos, live streams, and rewards.

As a special bonus, I am offering a free 30-minute video lesson for each of the first 10 patrons. Video lessons can be gifted to a friend. 

Learn more by clicking the giant orange button below =)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.